Florida Political Leaders on U.S. Debt Ceiling Vote | James Pat Guerréro

One should make careful note how local Florida political leaders voted on the U.S. Debt Ceiling and responded to the Boehner “cuts.”

Senator Marco Rubio (R-FL) – No

Senator Bill Nelson (D-FL) – Yes

Congressman Connie Mack (R-FL14) – No

Congressman David Rivera (R-FL25) – Yes

Congressman Jeff Miller (R-FL1) – Yes

Congressman Ander Crenshaw (R-FL4) – Yes

Congressman Richard Nugent (R-FL5) – Yes

Congressman John Mica (R-FL7) – Yes

Congressman Daniel Webster (R-FL8) – Yes

Congressman Gus Bilirakis (R-FL9) – Yes

Congressman C. Young (R-FL10) – Yes

Congressman Vern Buchanan (R-FL13) – Yes

Congressman Thomas Rooney (R-FL16) – Yes

Congresswoman Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (R-FL18) – Yes

Congressman Mario Diaz-Balart (R-FL21) – Yes

Congressman Allen West (R-FL22) – Yes

Congresswoman Sandy Adams (R-FL24) – Yes

Yours truly’s opinion is that the debt compromise was no real solution. The tax cuts were really applied to projected tax increases that were agreed to be cut, but not all. The Congress actually increased the debt limit to eventually raise taxes.

David Rivera followed the established Republican approach by voting “Yes.”

Marco Rubio and Connie Mack held firm by voting “No.”

Yours truly would have voted “No.”

Many Republican Congressman followed the established Republican approach by voting “Yes.”

It would be interesting to research on how the other party Florida political leaders voted.

Read More: Local leaders split on debt-limit compromise » Naples Daily News.


Please be patient if comment is moderated.

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s