ThursdayMan | el hombre del jueves

When I’m in October

Posted in Short Story, Tradition by James Pat Guerréro on 10/11/2016

autumn-02Every year I cannot wait for October.  I love October soooo much!  I start feeling light and mellow.  I imagine wearing muted fall colors of red, yellow and green with tinges of violet.  When I’m driving I sheepishly glance at the glass window shops of beautifully dressed and autumn colored mannequins. I wish I were one of those mannequins in the store. I would just stare like the rest of them and be so happy.  I sense the odor of fine cuisine more acutely. I start getting really hungry for pumpkin and sugar or acorn squash and butter. I want to eat all the different kinds of Spanish tapas in one sitting. The moon appears to talk to me.  It has funny faces and makes me laugh to myself.  At twilight the sunlight brightens me directly and everywhere I turn, it colors me first.  When I’m in October, I’m in love with all that is there.

Please be patient if comment is moderated.

