Governor Rick Scott’s Weekly Newsletter – August 5, 2011


jpeg
Governor Scott Serves Donuts on his First ‘Let’s Get to Work’ DayThis week I participated in my first ‘Let’s Get to Work’ Day. Resurrecting a tradition that began in 1977 by former Governor and United State Senator Bob Graham, ‘Let’s Get to Work’ Days mirror Governor Graham’s program by experiencing “the lives of ordinary Floridians firsthand by working their jobs.” About once a month, I will continue this great tradition by working side by side with Florida residents. I hope that these work days are beneficial to all and I know that I will learn a great deal in this process.

Like many of you, I have worked hard my entire life. As the son of a truck driver and a JC Penny’s clerk, my family often struggled financially. As a young man I held every job from cleaning telephone booths to delivering newspapers. I was always proud of the jobs I had and learned valuable lessons from each one I was fortunate to hold. My goal as Governor is to be sure that every Floridian has the same opportunity to get a job and live the American Dream.

For my first few ‘Let’s Get to Work’ Days, I will relive some of the jobs that I held as a young man. My first major foray into business was when my wife Ann and I bought two donut shops in Kansas City for my mother, Esther, to manage. With this in mind, I worked side by side with the great employees at Nicola’s Donuts and Bakery in Tampa. I would like to thank everyone at Nicola’s for making my first ‘Let’s Get to Work’ Day a success.

I invite you visit the links below to find out more and submit information on how your business can participate in my ‘Let’s Get to Work’ Days.

Tell your friends! twitter-tweet-55x20.pngfb-like-49x20.png

Promises Made, Promises Kept:Governor Rick Scott Announces ‘Let’s Get to Work’ Days; Resurrects Tradition Started by Former Governor and U.S. Senator Bob Graham

Watch Governor Scott’s Weekly Radio Address

Request Governor Scott to ‘Get to Work’ at Your Business

jpegFirst Lady Ann Scott and teens in foster care recently hung out with former FSU and NFL defensive tackle Corey Simon on campus at FSU. Corey’s Kids Summer Camp focuses on sports, self-esteem, and character building. Mrs. Scott personally visited several of those children at their home at Boys Town North Florida later in the week.

Get involved:

jpeg

51261.jpgThis week Lt. Governor Jennifer Carroll focused on creating jobs in Florida’s growing defense and aerospace industries. Early in the week, in her position as head of Military Affairs for the state, Lt. Governor Carroll visited Avon Park Air Force Range where military and other customers from around the world come to train. The Range has a significant economic and employment impact on Polk and Highlands Counties.

Later in the week in Tampa, as the Chair of Space Florida, Lt. Governor Carroll led the Space Florida board in their quarterly meeting. She also presented an exciting Space Florida update to the full Enterprise Florida board and Governor Rick Scott. Space Florida and their partners are developing new 21st Century projects that are creating science and technology jobs in Florida. Great news from Space Florida this last quarter includes our state winning the bid to manage the International Space Station National Lab — that’s $15M a year and dozens of jobs for our space industry workers!

jpegjpeg
Please be patient if comment is moderated.

